The Local Honey

Eat. Play. Love. Sustain.

Events: Common Table at Local Farms May 15, 2010

Filed under: Bee Green,Bee local,Fun finds,Nourishment,Places to go — Organized Squirrel @ 11:27 pm
Tags: , ,

I have a few fun foodie events to share. Eventually I will have an actual calendar of events on my site. The Local Honey is a work in progress with a goal to provide you with a wealth of helpful information. Check back as you never know what you might find. I will be honest, what you get just might  depend on my mood on any given day 🙂

I sent an email to Slow Foods Sacramento introducing myself and explaining what I am doing. She took a peek at my blog and said it looks great. I had mentioned that I would be happy to support them. She wanted to me to share info on this event, Urban Ag Fest 2010 June 19 benefiting Soil Born Farms food access projects. It sounds like a blast (alas, we are out-of-town that weekend). This Common Table event is set to help you eat, learn and enjoy your food. You can check out the menu on-line. It looks mouth-watering. These are the type of events that I typically see in Sunset Magazine. I always think that they look like so much fun and now I am stumbling upon a few that are practically in my backyard. Cool.

I also see that there is a Farm to Table Dinner featuring Good Humus Produce on event on June 29th. Again, the menu is fresh produce from a local farm. It looks delicious.

Another fun farm event is coming up on May 23 at Soil Born Farms.  It is called A Day on the Farm. This is an all day event of Farm tours, cooking demonstrations, workshops, kids garden activities, face painting and photo booth, art, music, food and more. They also have a veggie race for all ages. Register here.

For more information and other fun events centered around good food and local farms, check out the Sacramento Food co-op.

 

Eat Wild and Co-ops

Filed under: Bee Green,Bee local,Fun finds,Nourishment,Places to go — Organized Squirrel @ 10:33 pm
Tags: ,

My husband is in Humboldt for the weekend for his younger brother’s college graduation. I was asking him about the area and what it was like  (as I have heard it is amazing). He was telling me that it is indeed a beautiful place nestled amongst the redwoods but also a stones throw from the coast. Bliss!! Due to school schedules for our own kids, he went solo to represent our family while I stayed home to run this end of things (yeah me!). Anyway, he also went shopping at the local food co-op and was telling me how cool it was that everything came in large quantities from local honey to beans. I have never actually shopped at a Co-Op although I know there is one located in Mid Town Sacramento and there is also one located in Davis. I plan to visit soon! Stay tuned for my future ramblings on that. I am guessing by my Google Search that the one he went to is the  North Coast Co-op. In trying to understand what a co-op is, I did a little further research. For those just as clueless as me, here is the answer:

Simply put, a cooperative is a business owned and managed by its members. The structure is to pool resources to satisfy a common need while providing goods and services as economically and efficiently as possible. As locally owned businesses, co-ops are committed to the people they serve and the communities in which they live.

Owners can have a voice in what is sold to them, as well as in the overall organization of their particular co-op. Owners get the most buying power for their money and the money stays in the community, contributing to its economic strength.

So there is my little plug on co-ops. I can provide further information after my official visit.

I also have to say that I adore my husband and the fact that he likes to provide me with info for this site. Even if he sometimes rolls his eyes at my sometimes excessive time on the computer and my ongoing interest in eating better, “Wait!! Don’t buy that — look at the ingredients” from me, is often followed by eye rolls from him. None the less, he tries to stay informed and shares things with me. I do appreciate that! Today while he was at the co-op, he started chatting with an employee about my recent trip to a cattle ranch and our conversations about grass fed beef. They told him about a website called Eat Wild. This site is your source for safe, healthy, natural and nutritious grass-fed beef, lamb, goats, bison, poultry, pork, dairy and other wild edibles.

If you are committed to eating better and supporting your local farmers, then please do check out Eat Wild as well as your local co-op. Oh yeah, don’t forget – check out the local Farmers Markets that are all starting to appear after a long winters rest.