The Local Honey

Eat. Play. Love. Sustain.

Got my Chop Chop in the mail May 18, 2010

Filed under: Fun finds,Nourishment — Organized Squirrel @ 8:44 pm
Tags: ,

So the one area where I really lack on being green is my magazine addiction – I can’t help it, having them in my hands makes me happy. I could seriously sit and look through foodie, health and craft magazines for hours. Really. I think that it has something to do with the constant subject change. I think that focus is one of the things that went away when I had babies. Seriously. The shorter the article, the more likely I am to stick with reading it. Actually, that might be a lie. If you asked my husband, he would tell you that my reading skills are “ridiculous” which is his way of saying that I read really super fast. I do. I admit. I have even read a handful or two of books in the past couple of years. Yes, I am a self proclaimed Twilight junkie!! I love to read. It is finding the window of time for such a leisurely activity. The Twilight series seriously robbed me of 10 days of my life. It was so worth it but really, I had to take a step away. I was obsessed with reading. Anyway, hence my love of magazines. I can stop and start without it becoming all-consuming.

So between all of my many subscriptions, I am now the proud recipient of  Chop Chop, the fun new cooking magazine for families. Hot off the presses and now in my happy little hands. This magazine has all kinds of healthy yet fun info for kiddos (and parents too).  One of the first little fun finds is a “food fight” between oranges and bananas. Wanna know who wins??? Are you sure??? 🙂 OK so the categories are fiber, vitamin C, Potassium, Folate and B6. Each of these fruits is a superstar in its own way but there is no actual winner, it was an even tie. So eat em up ~ they are BOTH a healthy and quick go to snack. Another very cool feature of this mag? It breaks down recipes by equipment needed, ingredients, difficulty, whether an adult is required to help, the time if takes to make and how many servings you will get. This is a very interactive magazine, I am eager to sit down and read it with the kids. A recipe worth sharing (I can not imagine it will taste anything other than delish) is the Hot Honey Vanilla Milk. My kids love hot cocoa and this seems like a fun variation. They also love honey.

Here is the recipe courtesy of Chop Chop Magazine

Hot Honey Vanilla Milk

Ingredients

  • 2 cups milk (any kind – rice, soy, etc)
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch of cinnamon

Put all ingredients in a small pot  and simmer over medium-low heat until warm. Whisk or stir from time to time. Pour into two mugs and enjoy!!

 

How to create less trash

Filed under: Bee Green,Nourishment — Organized Squirrel @ 4:44 pm
Tags:

Think of the little ways that you can make a BIG difference!! Some basic ideas as adapted by Glamour Magazine. These thirteen little things can add up to something big ~ go ahead, try them. I dare you!!

  1. Use a mug instead of a paper coffee cup
  2. Think before you buy
  3. Recycle your old gadgets
  4. Try fabric cloths to clean up around the house
  5. Use hand dryers in public restrooms
  6. Drink tap water
  7. Eat your leftovers
  8. Go organic when you can
  9. Eat more whole foods
  10. Buy in bulk
  11. Have two vegetarian meals a week
  12. Choose chicken over beef
  13. Eat whats is season
 

A little bit of honey

Filed under: Quotes & Inspiration — Organized Squirrel @ 4:16 am
Tags:

Happiness is a butterfly, which when pursued, is always just beyond your grasp, but which, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you.  ~Nathaniel Hawthorne